Lyab-I Hauz complex
Poi Kalan complex
The Ark Citadel
Bolo Haouz Mosque
Islam Khodja complex
Alla Kuli Khan
Muhammad Rahim Khan
Muhammed Emin Khan
Dorut-Tilovat is a preserved part of a vast memorial ensemble, which previously included not only structures that have survived to this day, but also a number of tombs and madrasahs associated with the names of the highest nobility of the Temurid state. Before the appearance of the complex, an old cemetery of Sayyids, the descendants of Muslims, whose lineage dates back to the Prophet Muhammad himself, was located on this site.
The Dorut-Tilovat complex was erected in memory of the famous religious figure of the 14th century Sheikh Shamsiddin Kulol, who was the mentor of Temur's father Amir Taragay, as well as Temur himself (1336-1405).
The tomb of Shamsiddin Kulol's feast immediately became a place of worship. By the order of Amir Temur, his tomb was faced with slabs of black marble, and next to it, on the remains of an ancient mosque, a one-dome mausoleum was built, where in 1373 the ashes of Amir Taragai, Amir Temur's father, were transferred. In the following decades, the memorial was overgrown with new tombs, mosques, madrasahs associated with the names of Amir Temur's successors.
The Dorut-Tilovat madrasah was added to the north of the Shamsiddin Kulol mausoleum. Later, the entire architectural complex was named Dorut-Tilovat.
During the reign of Mirza Ulugbek (1394-1449), a mausoleum with a dome was erected over the burial of Shamsiddin Kulol. During archaeological research, the double walls of the mausoleum were discovered, which confirmed the indication in historical sources that the building of an old mosque of the X-XII centuries served as the basis for the tomb of Shamsiddin Kulol.
In 1435-1436 Mirza Ulugbek on behalf of his father Shakhrukh (according to the inscription on the portal) builds a mosque according to the "kosh" system - opposite the mausoleum of Shamsiddin Kulol. The spacious square hall of the new mosque was covered with a large dome covered with blue tiles. Therefore, the mosque became known as Kok Gumboz ("Blue Dome") and played the role of the Friday cathedral mosque of Shakhrisabz.
The Dorut-Tilovat complex received its final design in 1438. Then, close to the mausoleum of Shamsiddin Kulol, Ulugbek began construction of a mausoleum for relatives and descendants of Ulugbek himself, as reported by the inscription under the dome. The building is graceful, slender, with a high drum, on which the lancet outer dome rested at that time.
Ancient inscriptions on marble tombstones have survived, where the names of Sayyids are mentioned. Hence the name of the mausoleum - Gumbazi-Seyidan ("Dome of the Sayids").
Thus, a single memorial complex was formed around the closed courtyard of the Dorut-Tilovat madrasah during the XIV-XV centuries, which consists of the Shamsiddin Kulol mausoleum, the madrasah with the gurkhana of Emir Taragay, a mosque and a dynastic burial vault.